County Committee on School District Organization Minutes of Annual Meeting Monday, December 5, 2022 -- Zoom - 2 p.m.

Santa Barbara County Education Office 4400 Cathedral Oaks Road, Santa Barbara

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:01 p.m. by Robin Sawaske

2. Roll Call

Members Present

Jan Clevenger Dr. Ed Cora Linda Cordero in at 2:05 p.m. Judith Dale Nancy Harter Terry Hickey Margaret Ontiveros Robin Sawaske Janet Zilli

Members Absent

Steve Minjarez Steve Straight

Others Present

Denice Cora, Secretary to County Committee Amada Dulay, Senior Administrative Assistant, School Business Advisory Services Austin Payne, Legal Counsel Bill Ridgeway, Assistant Superintendent, Administrative Services Dr. Susan Salcido, County Superintendent of Schools-Santa Barbara County Education Office

3. <u>Welcome</u>

Robin Sawaske welcomed everyone and thanked the County Committee members for joining via zoom.

4. **<u>Public Comments</u>** – None

5. <u>Retirement congratulations, Bill Ridgeway and Denice Cora</u>

Dr. Susan Salcido acknowledged Bill Ridgeway and Denice Cora on their commitment and service to SBCEO and the school districts. She wished them well on their new retirement adventures.

6. <u>Resolution No. 2022-24-CC State of Emergency and Reauthorizing Teleconferenced</u> <u>Meetings</u>

Robin Sawaske presented the 2022-24-CC Resolution for Recognizing a State of Emergency and Reauthorizing Teleconference Meetings. In accordance with AB 361, the County Committee adopted Resolution No. 2022-24-CC recognizing a state of emergency and reauthorizing teleconferenced meetings for a period of thirty (30) days. Austin Payne mentioned that the ability teleconference is most likely sunsetting at the end of February.

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the Resolution as presented.

MOVED:	Terry Hickey Banks	SECONDED:	Nancy Harter	
AYES:	Terry Hickey Banks, Dr. Ed Cora, Jan Clevenger, Linda Cordero, Judith Dale, Nancy Harter, Margaret Ontiveros, Robin Sawaske, Janet Zilli			
	Date, Ivaney Harter, Iviar	garet Ontiveros, Room	Sawaske, Janet Zim	

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None

7. Approval of Minutes of June 16 and November 30

The minutes for the June 16 and November 30 Special Meetings were presented for approval. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes as presented.

MOVED:	Terry Hickey Banks	SECONDED: Nancy Harter	
AYES:	Jan Clevenger, Dr. Ed Cora, Judith Dale, Nancy Harter, Terry Hickey Banks, Margaret Ontiveros, Robin Sawaske, Janet Zilli		
NOES: ABSTAIN:	None None		

The minutes of the meeting on June 16 and November 30, 2022, were approved.

8. <u>Election Results</u>

The Election Results were received by the County Committee.

Oath of Office

Dr. Susan Salcido asked to move the oath of office for Juanita Gutierrez Nichols (Fifth Supervisorial District) to a later date since she was not able to be present.

Also, Dr. Susan Salcido thanked Linda Cordero for her service.

9. Member information update:

Ms. Cora asked members to review their information on the master roster of members and submit any changes to her.

10. <u>Election of chairperson (south county) and vice chairperson (north county)</u>

Ms. Cora asked current Chair and Vice chairpersons, Robin Sawaske and Margaret Ontiveros, if they were willing to serve an additional year in these positions. Both Committee members were willing to do so and accepted.

MOVED:	Terry Hickey Banks	SECONDED: Jan Clevenger
AYES:	Jan Clevenger, Dr. Ed C and Janet Zilli	ora, Linda Cordero, Nancy Harter,
NOES:	None	
ABSTAIN:	None	

11. Suggested Meeting dates for 2023 at 2 p.m.

Approval of meeting dates for 2022

- February 13, 2023
- April 10, 2023
- September 11, 2023
- December 11, 2023 (annual meeting)
- MOVED: Janet Zilli SECONDED: Margaret Ontiveros
- AYES: Dr. Ed Cora, Linda Cordero, Nancy Harter, Terry Hickey Banks, Margaret Ontiveros, Robin Sawaske, and Janet Zilli

NOES: None

12. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 2:32 p.m.